days like today are why i have tattoos.

there are days when it is all i can do to remember who i am.

i’m sitting in my office right now, writing discussion boards for one class and grading them for another. its raining, and has been for days. i’m in a funk.

there are days when it is all i can do to remember who i am.

i’m sitting in my office, surrounded by post-it notes- the multicolored stickies wallpaper my cube, and tell me how much my friends love me.  i spent most of the day at church, volunteering for three out of the four services we put on today- i was thanked and affirmed over and over! i got new rain boots yesterday and lost track off how many people told me how adorable they were. if there was ever a day when i had the praise of men, today would be it.

but those things, however sweet, aren’t who i am.

if you’ve ever read this blog before, you know i have two tattoos.  one is on my left wrist- ‘beloved’ in hebrew and english; the other is on the top of my left foot- ‘blessed’.  this isn’t about whether or not you think i should have tattoos.  this is about me reminding myself who i am. ‘beloved’ is who god sees when he looks at me. ‘blessed’ is who i am in him. days like today, when i can’t remember who i am, i just look down.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

