new morning, new mercy

this morning i got to join with hundred of people and several other churches in the 50 days of unbroken prayer endeavor.  i got up before the sun! (which, if you know me at all … is virtually unheard of.)  it was well worth it.  me, jesus, and a cinnamon dolce latte … all came together for gloriousness.  i got to pray with another woman who had also been scheduled for my time slot, and that was a blessing.  i got to catalogue god’s blessings on my life and pray for my friends, my church, my city, and the futures of all of those.  i love praying for other people and telling god how awesome he is (praying for my small group girls is the highlight of my life!) … and i simply must carve out time to do this more often.  prayer leads to god-moments … and god-moments lead to god-days … and a god-life.  and i want that.

i finished ‘in a pit with a lion on a snowy day’ on monday evening … more about that next time.  i’m still percolating all of that goodness.  but monday i also got to sit down with a few of my girls and have heart to hearts … so needed.  i love these girls so much, and am so privileged to get to lead them and be their friend.  if there is one thing i could do for the rest of my life, it would be this.  (also coming soon: my bucket list.  stay tuned!)

but this song has been in my head this morning, so i wanted to share.  old, but good. old school knows whats up. enjoy and meditate on this:

Come, Thou Fount of every blessing,
Tune my heart to sing Thy grace;
Streams of mercy, never ceasing,
Call for songs of loudest praise.
Teach me some melodious sonnet,
Sung by flaming tongues above.
Praise the mount! I’m fixed upon it,
Mount of Thy redeeming love.

Here I raise my Ebenezer;
Here by Thy great help I’ve come;
And I hope, by Thy good pleasure,
Safely to arrive at home.
Jesus sought me when a stranger,
Wandering from the fold of God;
He, to rescue me from danger,
Interposed His precious blood.

O to grace how great a debtor
Daily I’m constrained to be!
Let Thy goodness, like a fetter,
Bind my wandering heart to Thee.
Prone to wander, Lord, I feel it,
Prone to leave the God I love;
Here’s my heart, O take and seal it,
Seal it for Thy courts above.

O that day when freed from sinning,
I shall see Thy lovely face;
Clothed then in blood washed linen
How I’ll sing Thy sovereign grace;
Come, my Lord, no longer tarry,
Take my ransomed soul away;
Send thine angels now to carry
Me to realms of endless day.

[also in my head: slow dancing in a burning room.  no thanks to a goober in my office. its so stinking catchy!]

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

